A parent, a pastor, and a christian…

Life as a single Christian: dating as a parent and a pastor.

I sat at my desk this afternoon writing my sermon while my beautiful daughter played outside with members of our church family. As we waited for our monthly family volleyball night to start, I heard the sound of her laughter while she ran by with two of the other children. I took a moment to just breath in the sweet blessing that God has bestowed upon me. 

I have found two things about my life that seem to intimidate men are 1- that I have a child and 2- that I am a Christian, not to mention a pastor. I have had to learn that if someone can not see these two areas of my life for the immense blessings that they are, well, then I don’t need that person in my life. 

Parents, pastors, Christians…. Listen, these roles that God has entrusted us with are so very important and shape who we are. God has granted us with our children -no matter the situations in which they were conceived – to change us and help us grow. Just like he has graced us with our callings. They are blessings and it is up to us to not forget that. It is up to us to LET it change us for the better. 

When I concieved my daughter it was by no means a healthy situation. I was living an unhealthy life devoid of God. Not that He wasn’t there but that I would not let Him in. My child softened me. She changed me. And when I came back to Christ, from that moment on, she has pushed me to go deeper in my faith. She has been instrumental to my spiritual growth and she even holds me accountable and calls me out when I need it. 

I have since then received my calling from God to be a children’s pastor. God has changed my heart and grown me so much since then. I am now pursuing my calling aggressively and can’t picture my life without these blessings. 

I say all of that to land on this: don’t let someone make you doubt the blessings for what they are simply because that person is unable to see the real value. The right person will come along. A person whom God has opened their eyes to see the value of you and your treasures. 

““Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal.  But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal.  For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” – Matthew 6:19‭-‬21 NIV

“May my cry come before you, Lord ; give me understanding according to your word.” – Psalm 119:169 NIV

Lord, thank you for the blessings you have given me. Thank you for entrusting me with such important roles and blessings. Father, please help me to be patient and appreciative of the gifts you have given me. Lord, please give me discernment of those who I come into contact with and help me to protect and care for those blessings that you have trusted me with. Lord, I will wait patiently for the right person that you have planned for me, please protect me from the people who are not meant to be in my life. Father, I thank you and I love you. I pray in Jesus’ name. Amen. 

Corazón DeSueños

https://youtu.be/Eoi1fR3py9U #EndTheStigma video sermon on mental health as a Christ Follower. 
https://youtu.be/pwn7Y8L5usY #ChristianSingle video sermon about being a single Christ Follower. 

Leave a Reply

